The governing body is made up of parent, staff and Local Authority (LA) representatives. Along with their statutory responsibilities the governing body represent a 'critical friend' to the school management and monitor closely all aspects of the school.

Governors usually meet twice per term to receive a head teacher’s report and consider general issues relating to the school. These meetings also focus on monitoring key aspects of the school’s business. The focus alternates between issues relating to:

· Standards and Effectiveness

· Resources – encompassing Finance, Personnel and Premises

Governors make frequent visits into school to work with both children and staff and their good work is reflected in the excellent relationships which result. Our Chair of governors is Mark Woolley who can be contacted via the school office (01422 352856).

If you are interested in the work of the governors please feel free to contact our Chair. From time to time there are vacancies for parent governors, so if you have a child here at Lee Mount and feel you might be interested in becoming a governor, keep an eye out for news of vacancies in the school newsletter.


Governing Body 2017 - 2018

 Name  Photograph  Specialism  Governor Type  End of Term of Office  Other Information* Attendance 2016 - 2017

Mark Woolley





Mr Glenn Roper

Vice Chair


Governor for Early Years

Reception and Nursery Class Link

Co-opted 29.9.2020

St George’s Community Trust

5/6 Full governors

3/3 Standards Committee


Miss Beverley Knowles




Special Educational Needs Governor 

Year 5 Class Link

Co-opted (Parent) 18.3.2017 None 

5/6 Full governors

3/3 Standards Committee


Ms Lisa Okonkwo


 Governor for Looked After Children, Child Protection and Safeguarding

Year 4 Class Link

 Co-opted (Parent) 17.11.20  

St George’s Community Trust

St George’s

4/5 Full governors

1/2 Standards Committee


Miss Kelly Gorton




Year 1 Class Link



30.10.20 None

2/5 Full governors

1/3 Resources Committee


Mrs Kathryn Robinson



Standards and Effectiveness




5/6 Full governors

3/3 Standards Committee







Ms Laura



Standards and Effectiveness


Governor Training Contact

Headteacher Ex-officio None

6/6 Full governors

3/3 Standards Committee

3/3 Resources Committee

Clerk to the Governors – Ms Ann Emery

The Chair of Governors and Clerk can be contacted via the school office.

* Other information – It is a requirement that details of any relevant business interests of governors, details of any other educational establishments and any relationships with members of school staff are declared.